Special Meeting South Orange-Maplewood Board of Education May 21, 2018

A Special Meeting of the Board of Education of South Orange-Maplewood was held in the District Meeting Room at the Administration Building, 525 Academy Street, Maplewood, New Jersey, on May 21, 2018.

Board President Elizabeth Baker called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

Adequate written notice of this meeting of the South Orange-Maplewood Board of Education was sent to the Township and Village Clerks, the Libraries, The Star Ledger, the News Record and all schools.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ROLL CALL: Present: Ms. Adamson, Ms. E. Baker, Ms. R. Baker, Ms. Lawson-Muhammad, Ms. Maini, Ms. Pai, Mr. Sabin, Mrs. Wright

Absent: Ms. Sandor

9 VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT

Motion made by Ms. Pai seconded by Mr. Sabin to adjourn to Executive Session to discuss the Superintendent's Evaluation and process of selecting a search firm to assist with search for a permanent Superintendent.

Motion unanimously approved.

Board Adjourned at 7:10 p.m. Board Reconvened at 8:31 p.m.

HEARING OF INDIVIDUALS AND DELEGATIONS

The following individuals spoke about a matter concerning the Board of Education: Ronni Schwartz, Rosema McLaughlin and Rhea Mokund Beck.

The following individuals spoke in support of Seth Boyden Elementary School Principal Damion Frye: Nica Davidson, Allyson Murphy, Mitch Center, David Miller, Wilmana Barthelemy, Katharine Houston-Voss, Ken Feinleib, Shannon Stokes, Eileen Kaden Dean, Jennifer Jones, Leah VanDoornik, David Massoni, Tara Benigno, Catherine Cronin, Sarah Gee, Justin Wade, Laura Campos, Katie Kaplan, Stephanie Mills, David Zimmerman, Sarah Duffin.

Ms. Baker thanked the public for their comments and concerns.

Ms. Maini explained the purpose of the May 23, 2018 Board meeting is to address legal matters related to recent issues.

Mrs. Lawson-Muhammad read a statement to the Board and the community.

MOTION made by Ms. Pai, seconded by Ms. Adamson, that the Board of Education adjourn. Motion unanimously approved at 9:37 p.m.

Andrea Del Guercio, Board Secretary