THE SCHOOL DISTRICT OF SOUTH ORANGE & MAPLEWOOD

## **BOARD RECOGNITION**

PUBLIC BOARD MEETING

March 16, 2015

Six teams from **Tuscan Elementary School** went to the <u>Liberty Regional</u> <u>Tournament</u> for <u>Odyssey of the Mind</u> in Edison, NJ. Coaches Tracey Sigalos and Peter Ginsberg and the students on their team placed second in their division for "**Experiencing Technical Difficulties**" and will be going to State Finals in April. The teams had to present their solution to a long term challenge and also complete a spontaneous challenge, showing their problem solving and creative thinking skills while competing against other teams.

The following Tuscan students were on the winning team:

Xander Campbell-Singer	Marsden Edler
Eva Ginsberg	Maddie Goodrich
Lydia Ryan	Lilah Sigalos
Samuel Taber-Kewene	_

\* \* \*

The **Jefferson Elementary School 5th graders**, as part of **Jefferson Elementary's 3rd Annual Living Museum**, raised \$1,266.83 for **St. Jude Hospital**. The students researched and wrote an essay centered on a person who has changed the world. As a culmination to the Research Unit, students transformed themselves by dressing up as their chosen inspirational person and with a drop of a coin the 5<sup>th</sup> grade literary essays came to life.

The Jefferson Community selected St. Jude Research Hospital as the recipient of the donated funds in memory of a former student, **Kohl Angelo**. St. Jude Hospital played a huge role in Kohl's treatment.

\* \* \*

Columbia High School senior, **Bridget Hawkins**, was awarded a **regional award** for her short story from scholastic art and writing.

\* \* \*

The **Columbia High School Girls' Fencing Team** won the state championship on February 27<sup>th</sup> at Morris Hills High School by defeating Pingry.

Members of the girls' fencing team include: Celia Accardi Katherine Hilton **Blessing Olaode** Tovibat Osho Luz Aguba Andrea Horcasitas Cecilia Banks Mita Huq **Camille Pham** Julian Bowne Roshana Hyppolite Abigail Rothman Iquivia Brassington Noelle Jamison Sophie Saydah Briana Brown Nina Kambili Maya Schnall Tara Brown Talia Knutsen Abigail Schneider Laura Spanier Julia Cataneo Kataya Kolluri Georgia Longstreet Audrey Stathakis Ana Cowie Brigid Lynch Charlotte Cramer Brianna Stellini Sarah Mantus Gabrielle Tazewell Jennifer Crimaldi Maya DeMarzino Natalie Martinez Marissa Viqueira

Hanae Garrison Eve Greenberg Sophia Heriveaux Matilda McDougall Abigail Merelman Stephanie Molokwu Samantha Viqueira Isabelle Wendt Talia White

\* \* \*

**Melissa Butler**, Teacher at South Orange Middle School was invited to participate in the fourth annual **Digital Learning Day** in Washington, DC by the **Alliance for Excellent Education**. "Digital Learning Day is a national celebration of educators that shines a spotlight on successful instructional technology practice in schools across the country."

\* \* \*

The **United Way** selected **Marshall Elementary School** for their **Annual Celebrity Read** literacy initiative. Celebrity Read, created in 1990, is a literacy initiative spanning the month of February that recruits volunteers to model their love of reading and the pursuit of education as a pathway to success in local elementary school classrooms. **Ms. Janine Guida Poutre**, Media Specialist and **Ms. Erika Gomez**, Assistant Principal, coordinated the program.

\* \* \*

**Louis Cicenia**, Teacher at South Orange Middle School was selected to be the head coach for **Team America Softball** headed to play internationally against Australian teams in July of 2016.

**Jon Fisher**, CHS Photography teacher, will be displaying 12 Photographs taken in Italy last summer at the main branch of the **Maplewood Public Library** from April 3rd through 30th. An opening reception in April will feature the CHS Excelsior Singers, a reading by actor Zach Grenier, and a talk with Mr. Fisher.

\* \* \*

\* \* \*

**Jacob Ezzo**, SOMS Choral Director, was nominated by his college conductor, Dr. Jordan, for the **2016 GRAMMY Music Educator Award**! The GRAMMY Music Educator Award was established to recognize current educators who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and who demonstrate a commitment to the broader cause of maintaining music education in the schools. Finalists will be announced later in the year.

\* \* \*